Cutting Myself Some Slack

There is a part of me that wants to be hyperfocused and do it all then there is the part of me that is exhausted after a full day with my little girl and I just want to sit on the couch and veg-out.

So many people tell me to indulge the lazy side, cut myself some slack, but I know my book will never be finished this way. I’m struggling to find the balance to say hey it’s okay to relax and time to put my nose to the computer and type away.

I remind myself that JK Rowling was a single mom who dragged her son to coffee shops late at night to write the Harry Potter book. That bet paid off handsomely. We just don’t know what we have to do to reach our (current) goal and if that goal will be as satisfying as we hoped.

And now I must reluctantly drag myself to my writer’s room.

Leave a Reply

