Micro vs Macro

One of the helpful nuggets offered by the writing coach was to look at my story from more of a macro perspective instead of a micro one. I was getting myself too caught up in the details of which character should I include, how much time should I devote to this character’s back story, etc instead of looking at the overall transformation of the characters from the beginning of the story to the end.

I think taking a step back I can then decide what definitely needs to happen to the character, then it is just a matter of isolating the scenes that show this development.

My background in screenwriting has made me conscious of the overall story development and plot; that coupled with the experience of writing the previous book which I feel is really a string of anecdotes.

So hopefully I will learn from my past experiences. (Can they really be called mistakes if I have gained something from them?)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

