The Itch

My big 3-0 came and went with little fanfare. A few cards, a few presents, a few phone calls but other than that, nothing out of the ordinary.

The adage No news is good news applies, so I won’t complain.

I was able to squeeze in a little bit of writing last week. Not nearly as much as if I was in the city, but something is better than nothing; and I’ve been reading which definitely helps (or can help).

My conference is coming up in two weeks and I have gotten the itch to rewrite some of the novel before then. I’m going to focus on the first chapter or 20 pages. Based on my experience from the previous book and cold querying agents, the first few pages have to be strong and compel the agent to ask for the rest of the book. If I can get feedback from lots of respected writers on those pages and “nail the beginning” then I will be in great shape.

I just have to do it. The weather is average today and the forecast for tomorrow is grim so perhaps I can lock myself up indoors and do some more work. In the interim, I am *thinking* about the book, which counts to an extent.

But having the itch, and scratching it is best.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

