The Tipping Point

I saw Malcolm Gladwell the other day and thought about his book The Tipping Point. For those who don’t want to read 200 pages about a concept that can be summarized in one sentence, the book explores the concept of the final straw that breaks the camel’s back. I’ve been thinking about the tipping points in my life.

During this emotional rollercoaster of coping with the sudden loss of my mom, I’ve been prone to burst into tears. I don’t know what sets me off, sometimes it is hearing The Beatle’s “When I’m 64” because my mom did not even live 64 years, of course neither did John Lennon, George Harrison or Linda McCartney, or thinking about how much I will miss her when my child arrives within the next week or so.

My sister and I wonder futilely if there was an earlier tipping point, could we have changed the outcome. My mom, with an advanced rare form of cancer, had been traveling in India when she checked into a hospital. By the time we realized her condition was severe enough to order an air ambulance to bring her home she was quite sick. She hung on until the air ambulance doctors arrived but never made it to the plane on the tarmac.

So, I type this listlessly, wondering when/if life will return to normal.. I know this is a but of a ramble, but I’m trying to write, to move forward, to do something other than cry hysterically like I did today in my doctor’s office.

One Response to “The Tipping Point”

  1. stormdan Says:

    I came to your blog through NY moms blog. I wanted to say that I am so sorry about your mom. I’m a New Yorker, and a mom, and a writer (well trying anyway) and today would have been my father’s 65th birthday. He died 5 years ago and although it’s gotten easier, it’s still so difficult. You will find a new normal one day, but don’t rush it. Grieve if you can. Once that new baby comes, your mind will be occupied anyway.

Leave a Reply

