Surprisingly Productive

My dad always says that if you want to get something done, ask a busy person. So today, when my babysitter used three excuses to get out of work for one day (does she realize she can no longer use: my kids are out of school today, the trains are not running and my boiler broke to cancel on me?) I thought I might go stir crazy.

She had called when I had the kids out for breakfast. We had weathered the falling snow and icy streets for a 9:30 Gymboree class only to discover that they too have elected to have a snow day. Because Pookie was crying perhaps from the freezing cold we went to the nearby diner where she shoved crayons into her water, ate grape jelly with a stray and shook packets of Equal with as much gusto as any maraca she might have at Gymboree. She climbed the booth and hammed it up for the staff who were happy to have some distractions.

I’m not sure if that set her in a good mood for the day or prepped her for some long naps, but I’m not complaining. Regardless, I was able to plow through some of my paperwork, more than I think I might have even if the sitter had showed. Unfortunately, it was for my mom’s estate and nothing related to my writing or my little business. Oh well, productive is productive and hopefully it will carry over tomorrow when I do have a sitter and errands to run.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

