Careful What you Wish for

My mom would always say careful what you wish for it might come true, or more succinctly – Hell is where all of your wishes come true. I used to want to be famous and would happily settle for notoriety. But I honestly could not fathom people interrupting me constantly in public. Although, that could be a small price to pay for never having to wait for a table at a hot restaurant and being comped fabulous designer clothes.

I wanted to be a published author. I suppose I am, in magazines and some local papers but it has not changed my life the way I had envisioned and it is a hell of a lot more work, hustling if you will, to make it all happen. Any job for that matter is not nearly as glamourous as it may seem. Actors work 16 hour days and have to hustle for their work. Art Dealers are underminded all of the time. Store/ boutique owners have to bust their buts to make it look effortless. and my absolute favorite – synchronized swimmers, who are truly amazing athletes must make their performance seem effortless. Points are actually deducted if they do not smile. Not sure what i am saying, but I’m in my office, got the internet hooked up and am really enjoying typing on my computer without my refrigerator, telephone or kids vying for my attention. Perhaps all I really want is a few minutes of silence every now and then.

Leave a Reply

