Slowly Making a Dent

Right now I am sitting in a local Le Pain Quotidien with my laptop and a tart juice. I am writing. I am a writer.

I wrote a little bit about my mom as I am still coping with that experience, as I imagine I will be for years to come. So no, not my book. And I think that is okay.

So long as i continue to write *something* I am not stalling.

I started a book that parallels my story. This out of print novel, Learner’s Permit was recommended by my math professor at my ten year (gasp) college reunion. It follows the story of a man who trades identities with a college professor at a New England liberal arts school. I’m about half way through and cannot stop wondering why this book is out of print or not made into a movie.

I’ve been reading like a bandit lately – Mary Karr’s Lit, The Believers by Zoe Heller, Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri and more.

I’m relatively happy with the progress made today despite noisy neighbors. And it is only Monday so I am sure I can stay on good trend this week.

Leave a Reply

