End of a Chapter

I’ve been writing for NYC Mom’s Blog, a site for mommy (and daddy) bloggers, part of the Silicon Valley Moms Blog. In many ways I felt like an impostor on the site.

I’d write my minimum two posts a month, sometimes even sneaking in a third and read about *real* mom bloggers who offered giveaways or generated income from their sites. And me, I’m just a mom from New York who would really like a book deal and manages to squeeze in a bit of writing here and there. When my mom passed, I debated keeping my bimonthly commitment to the site but forced myself to do so. In writing the posts, I found myself revisiting my other blog sites, this one and Milf Alert.

One week, as the end of the month was approaching, I forced myself to bang out a post for NYC Moms Blog. And bang it out I did. I wrote how my daughter is a picky eater (she has since become even more selective) and most enjoys eating breakfast. Since breakfast is the most important meal of the day, it reasons that I can serve her breakfast food three times a day. Several days later I was filled with shock and pride upon learning that the post was one of four selected for national syndication in local papers.

In the course of a year and a half I had contributed close to three dozen posts. Posts that I may not have written. Posts that may not have been read my anyone. But they were, thanks to NYC Moms Blog. And visitors, albeit a few of them, visited my own blog sites. I started to feel like I belonged. Still an impostor, but a less obvious one.

So it is with sadness that I learned SVMoms, the parent board will be shutting down the site. It does feel like an end of an era.

3 Responses to “End of a Chapter”

  1. kim.momimpact Says:

    You were not an impostor at all. I think we all feel that way at times. And as for the site shutting down, that came as a sad surprise to many of us. I’m part of the original group of the Chicago Moms Blog. It’s sad to see it end, but I think there’s already something else rising in its place.

  2. April Says:

    I too felt like an impostor – how did I get to be part of such a fabulous group?!? And I also had one of my “bang it out” posts be selected for syndication! So here on the west coast, you have a kindred spirit. What a great thing we had, huh?

  3. Jennie Says:

    I’m just a few months into my time with SV Moms here in Silicon Valley. It felt like the start of something new and special for me. I’m sorry to see it end so quickly, but hope it is a launching point for new and bigger things for all of us!

Leave a Reply

